Strings for a beginner

Strings, picks, tuners, amps, cases, tailpieces, mics, etc plus related discussion.

Moderator: Dave Hanson

Strings for a beginner

Postby Chiselteeth » Wed Apr 26, 2017 9:36 am

Hi.

I'm new to both the forum and the mandolin. I've been playing Uke for a while and wanted a new instrument. Chose the mandolin because of the violin style tuning (I used to play).

I've bought a low cost one to start with and obviously it won't have come with the best strings. I'm happy to buy a fit new strings, my question is this:

What are the best new strings for a beginner - in particular I would like ones that are slightly less painful than the ones fitted. I'm really feeling the pain! At this point I'm not too concerned if the strings give less volume (my neighbours probably wouldn't mind that either!) I'm just looking for something easier on the fingers while I sit there practicing chords over and over again....
Chiselteeth

Re: Strings for a beginner

Postby colirv » Wed Apr 26, 2017 10:35 am

Any steel-strung instrument is going to feel painful after a ukulele! And as a rule the cheaper the instrument the harder (and more painful) it will be to play.

What will make it more painful is higher action or heavier strings. The action could well be poor on a cheap instrument, but probably not easy to improve (unless the bridge is adjustable). Going for lighter strings might well help, depending on what strings are currently on it. I use D'Addario medium gauge strings (.011-.040). IIWY I'd probably look for any strings marked "light gauge" or with gauges .010-.034 and pick the cheapest!
Colin
colirv

Postby Ray(T) » Wed Apr 26, 2017 11:36 am