dampness of the north - problem for building

Discussion groups for those of you with an interest in the construction and repair of the mandolin family instruments.

Moderator: Dave Hanson

dampness of the north - problem for building

Postby Julian » Sat Nov 27, 2010 9:27 pm

Hi, I'm a newbie builder & I live in Cumbria. What do other people in the North do to combat the damp atmosphere in the autumn/winter months?

Thanks

Julian
Julian

Postby John Kelly » Wed Dec 01, 2010 10:14 am

Hi Julian,
I find a good whisky can work wonders in keeping the damp out, and I live in Argyll, which does have its fair share of damp in the winter!
Seriously, Many builders store their timber in a heated cabinet and they vary from custom-made ones to having a small tube heater in a storage cupboard with plenty of air circulating around the wood. This is a lot cheaper than trying to keep a workshop at the right levels over the winter. The thing is to try to keep a consistent level of humidity - once built the instrument will be subject to variations in temperature and humidity throughout its life, and we are probably better off over here than is other parts of the world where humidity variations are much greater.
I never keep a lot of wood at any time as I build only on a one-off basis, and my regular supplier stores his material carefully. My finished instruments are around 6 years old now and so far I have had no problems and they are in areas from Cornwall to Northern Ireland and seem to be doing fine according to their owners.
Hope this is of help.
Last edited by John Kelly on Fri Dec 03, 2010 1:21 pm, edited 1 time in total.
JK Mandolins - handcrafted in Argyll, Scotland
John Kelly

Postby Julian » Wed Dec 01, 2010 11:05 am